Writing a Teaching Philosophy Statement on Campus Event!

By on March 20, 2018

CIRTL Local

Writing an Effective Teaching Philosophy Statement Local Event
This coming Monday (March 26) we will be having an on-campus event regarding writing a teaching philosophy statement. This is a requirement for certification at UT Arlington and this is a good opportunity to join your peers at drafting a TP statement. There will be food available, first come first serve, so please register at Writing an Effective Teaching Philosophy Statement (https://www.uta.edu/php-lib/machform/view.php?id=4096). More details of the location and time of the on-campus event on the registration link.

Funding is still available at UTA for CIRTL projects and events. Visit out website cirtluta.linklab.domains for opportunities and deadlines.

If you have any questions please contact Christopher (christopher dot abrego at mavs dot uta dot edu).


CIRTL Network

This Thursday we’re finishing our event series on STEM mentoring by looking at how you can bring inclusive mentorship into the classroom. We hope you’ll join us!

Also this week, registration closes Wednesday for our workshop on writing a teaching philosophy statement. On Friday, registration closes for our workshop on science communication. There’s still plenty of time to register for our last workshop of the semester, on following through on your IDP.

This Friday is the last day to sign up to present your Teaching-as-Research project at our spring presentation session next month. If you’ve finished a TAR project within the last year, we hope you’ll consider sharing your work.

Lastly, two of CIRTL’s summer teaching institutes – at Johns Hopkins University and the University of Delaware – are already open for registration. Sign up now while spots still remain!

Questions about our programming? Contact us at info@cirtl.net.


This Week at CIRTL

Teaching as Mentorship: Understanding Classroom Impact (Drop-in Event)
3/22: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
Learn about inclusive “teaching as mentorship” practices and how to incorporate them into your pedagogy and syllabi in this event led by a Teaching-as-Research mentor. At the end of the event, participants will be able to develop an action plan based on the hour-long discussion. This event is the last in our four-part series on productive mentorship.


Upcoming Programming

Writing an Effective Teaching Philosophy Statement (workshop)
3/26 & 4/9: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT
Draft a peer-reviewed statement that reflects your teaching beliefs and experiences. Cap: 40 (almost full). Register by 12PM CT on Wednesday, March 21.

Science Communication for Any Audience (workshop)
3/29, 4/5 & 4/12: 12-1:15PM ET / 11AM-12:15PM CT / 10-11:15AM MT / 9-10:15AM PT
Explore key concepts and strategies in written and oral science communication in this three-part workshop. Cap: 25. Register by 12PM CT on Friday, March 23.

I Completed My IDP…Now What? (workshop)
4/9: 4:30-6:30PM ET / 3:30-5:30PM CT / 2:30-4:30PM MT / 1:30-3:30PM PT
Practice navigating the challenging conversations you might have with a mentor or advisor when pursuing your individual development plan. No cap. Register by April 8.

All-Network TAR Presentations (drop-in event)
4/18: 5-6:30 PM ET / 4-5:30PM CT / 3-4:30PM MT / 2-3:30 PM PT
Present your completed TAR project and hear from others in this All-Network presentation session as dozens of TAR practitioners from across the nation share their findings. Take this opportunity to showcase your accomplishments and learn what others in the Network are doing! Sign up here if you’re interested in presenting.


Summer Teaching Institutes

EThis summer 5 universities will be hosting teaching institutes: University of Delaware, Johns Hopkins University, Drexel University, University of British Columbia (hosting CIRTL’s first international teaching institute), and Louisiana State University and Yale (partnering in hosting CIRTL’s first online teaching institute).

Introduction to Problem-Based Learning (University of Delaware)
May 22 through May 24 in Newark, Delaware
This face-to-face institute is for current and future educators interested in learning more about problem-based learning (PBL). Participants will learn best practices, and discuss challenges, and review curriculum materials to help them implement PBL in their current and future courses. Register online at https://sites.udel.edu/cirtl2018.

Teaching Institute (Johns Hopkins University Homewood Campus)
May 30 through June 1 in Baltimore, Maryland
This three-day intensive workshop, led by experienced Johns Hopkins University faculty, has been designed to address common themes and challenges in teaching and education at the post-secondary level. Register online at https://go.wisc.edu/10blyk. Register as soon as possible; this institute tends to fill up quickly.

Teaching Institute (Johns Hopkins University East Baltimore Campus)
June 6 through June 8 in Baltimore, Maryland
This three-day intensive workshop, led by experienced Johns Hopkins University faculty, has been designed to address common themes and challenges in teaching and education at the post-secondary level. Register online at https://go.wisc.edu/7ff9qc. Register as soon as possible; this institute tends to fill up quickly.

Additional Info

Productive Mentorship Event Series

Attending CIRTL Drop-in Events

Attending CIRTL Courses & Workshops

Spring Teaching-as-Research Presentations

Summer Teaching Institutes

CIRTL Website

CIRTL UTA Website

Questions about our programming? Contact our help desk at info@cirtl.net.


Job Postings

Ecology and Global Change Postdoc, University of California Riverside (Deadline: 3/31)

Biomedical Science Postdoc, UPLIFT Program, UCLA (Deadline: 4/1)

Education Specialist, HHMI Inclusive Excellence Project, Washington University in St. Louis (Open until filled)

Visiting Assistant Professorships, University of Richmond (Open until filled)

Teaching Track Faculty Position, Whiting School of Engineering, Johns Hopkins University (Open until filled)

To view more postings or share a new one, join our Academic Careers & Job Postings online community.


Newsletter Signup

Did someone forward our newsletter to you? Fill out our signup form to get it sent straight to your inbox!

Miss something? Read through our newsletter archives.

The CIRTL Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.

Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net
Facebook logo Twitter logo LinkedIn logo

This material is based on work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. DUE-1231286
National Sciences Foundation logo

To unsubscribe from this list, email christopher dot abrego at mavs dot uta dot edu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *