Weekly Update

By on April 11, 2017

 

CIRTL Local

This week we will having 1 learning community meeting, refreshments will be provided (see location and time below). Next Thursday, there will be a Network presentation given be Christopher Abrego, “Smart Braking Experiment for Undergraduate Mechatronics Exposure”, part of the All-Network TAR Presentations . Consider viewing the presentation to get an idea of how to perform a Teaching-as-Reserach project. For more information regarding the TAR presentations, see the links below.

Learning Community: Effective Methods for Engaging Student Learners in the Engineering Classroom – face-to-face and online
Leader: Arpita Bhatt
Time and Location: Friday, April 14th, at 12:30PM in Nedderman Hall 414
Meeting Topic: Teaching-as-Research


CIRTL Network

Today we’re closing out our Teaching in the US and CIRTL Reads event series, with discussions on culturally responsive teaching and developing learning communities. Click the links below to sign up to attend either online event.

We hope you’ll join us next week, too, to hear 18 students present their Teaching-as-Research projects to the entire Network in a special online event. This event is a great opportunity for anyone thinking about Teaching-as-Research, doing a TAR project, or looking to learn more about CIRTL.

Upcoming Events

Culturally Responsive Teaching: Building an Inclusive Classroom
(Teaching in the US Series)

Monday, April 10: 11AM-12PM ET/10-11AM CT/9-10AM MT/8-9AM PT

Our final event of the year will focus on building a more culturally inclusive classroom. We’ll address how to enact pedagogies that respond to culturally diverse classrooms, and how ideas such as universal design for learning can improve the classroom experience for all.

Developing Learning Communities for STEM Students (CIRTL Reads Journal Club)
Monday, April 10: 2-3PM ET/1-2PM CT/12-1PM MT/11AM-12PM PT

We will examine the development of learning communities using an article co-written by institutional leaders at Northwestern University. Robert Linsenmeier, a co-author, and Lauren Woods, both from Northwestern, will join us for this discussion.

All-Network TAR Presentations (TAR Capstone Series)
Monday, April 17: 4-5:30PM ET/3-4:30PM CT/2-3:30PM MT/1-2:30PM PT

Every year, students from across the CIRTL Network conduct Teaching-as-Research projects on specific classroom interventions in order to explore new evidence-based teaching approaches in STEM disciplines. Join us to hear their findings, and come ready to discuss and ask questions!

CIRTL Quick Links

Upcoming Events and Workshops

Teaching in the US Event Series

Teaching in the US Learning Community

CIRTL Reads Journal Club

Teaching-as-Research Capstone Series

CIRTL Website

Create an Account

Newsletter Archives

CIRTL UTA Website


Job Postings

Learning & Technology Specialist, Georgia Tech (Open til filled)

To view job postings, or submit one of your own, join our Academic Careers & Job Postings online community.


Newsletter Signup

Did someone forward our newsletter to you? Fill out our signup form to get it sent straight to your inbox!

The CIRTL Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.
Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net

Facebook logo
Twitter logo
LinkedIn logo

This material is based on work supported by the National
Science Foundation under
Grant No. DUE-1231286

National Sciences Foundation logo


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *