Weekly Meetings

By on April 25, 2017

 

CIRTL Network

With our spring semester officially over, CIRTL is looking ahead to summer, when we’ll be running two online workshops and our member institutions will be hosting two in-person teaching institutes.

In addition to our own programming, many of our members run local activities that, while not official CIRTL programming, are open for broader participation. This summer, Cornell University is hosting a Teaching-as-Research conference; register by April 30 to attend.

CIRTL Summer Workshops

Developing a CV or Resume
June 22 and 29: 11AM-12:30PM ET/10-11:30AM CT/9-10:30AM MT/8-9:30AM PT

In this two-part online workshop, participants will learn how CVs and resumes vary for academic positions, non-academic positions, and grant applications. After learning about strong CV content, style, and organization, participants will develop long form academic CVs and short form resumes, and then refine them through a collaborative peer review process. Registration will be open from 11AM Central Time on May 29 through June 14. Cap of 60 students.

Level Up: Designing a Game-Based Learning Environment (Baltimore, MD)
June 27: 1-3PM ET/12-2PM CT/11AM-1PM MT/10AM-12PM PT

In this online workshop, we will look at the various elements of game design that can help engage and motivate students such as collaboration, autonomy, purpose, competition, feedback, and scaffolding. As a group, we will explore activities that are based around familiar game formats, design frameworks around existing games repurposed to address specific learning objectives, and examine how to embed game structures within a course’s design. Registration will be open from 11AM Central Time on June 5 through June 19. Cap of 100 students.


CIRTL Summer Institutes

Vanderbilt Evidence-Based Teaching Institute (Nashville, TN)
Monday, May 22 – Tuesday, May 23

Vanderbilt University is hosting a face-to-face teaching institute on May 22 and 23 to provide grad students and postdocs with an intensive introduction to evidence-based teaching. The institute will cover a wide range of teaching topics, including how people learn, challenge-based learning, course design, active learning and effective use of classroom technology, assessment, classroom management and learning through diversity. Registration closes May 17.

Johns Hopkins Summer Teaching Institute (Baltimore, MD)
Offered twice: May 30 – June 1 and June 6 – June 8

Johns Hopkins University is hosting two three-day, face-to-face teaching institutes for graduate students and postdocs to learn about and develop their own evidence-based STEM teaching skills. The institutes are open to CIRTL members, and will take place at the Johns Hopkins campus in Baltimore. Registration closes May 22. Seats are filling quickly.


Opportunities Across the Network

These opportunities are sponsored by CIRTL Network institutions and might be of interest to others in the Network. Opportunities have no official connection to CIRTL cross-Network programming.

Teaching as Research: Train the Trainer Workshop and National Conference
June 4 – 6 in Ithaca, NY

The two-day Teaching as Research (TAR) Train the Trainer Workshop and National Conference is designed to guide new and seasoned faculty, professional development staff, and administrators in the development of a TAR program tailored to their institution, and in best practices for preparing university faculty and graduate students to build TAR into their courses. Register by April 30.

CIRTL Quick Links

Upcoming Events and Workshops

Attending CIRTL Courses & Workshops

CIRTL Website

Create an Account

Newsletter Archives


Job Postings

Senior Program Coordinator, Graduate and Postdoctoral Programs, Northwestern’s Searle Center (Open until filled)

Learning & Technology Specialist, Georgia Tech (Open until filled)

Learning & Technology Specialist, Georgia Tech (Open until filled)


Newsletter Signup

Did someone forward our newsletter to you? Fill out our signup form to get it sent straight to your inbox!


Opportunities across the Network

Many of our members run local activities that, while not official CIRTL programming, are open for broader participation. If you have a local program open to outside participants, let us know about it here.

The CIRTL Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.
Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net

Facebook logo
Twitter logo
LinkedIn logo

This material is based on work supported by the National
Science Foundation under
Grant No. DUE-1231286

National Sciences Foundation logo

To unsubscribe from this list, email christopher.abrego@mavs.uta.edu.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *