Inclusive Teaching Tips & Teaching-as-Research Reflections

By on February 20, 2018

CIRTL Local

Funding is still available at UTA for CIRTL projects and events. Visit out website cirtluta.linklab.domains for opportunities and deadlines.

If you have any questions please contact Christopher (christopher dot abrego at mavs dot uta dot edu).


CIRTL Network

This week our drop-in event series on women in STEM concludes with a discussion of practical approaches that instructors can use to foster equity and inclusion in their STEM classrooms.

We’re also hosting a panel of Teaching-as-Research (TAR) alumni this Thursday – if you’re interested in learning more about TAR, this is a great place to start! TAR alumni will reflect on their own experiences doing TAR projects – not the research they conducted, but what they learned from the process and how they use what they learned in their current roles as postdocs and faculty.

Lastly, we’re looking ahead to April, when we’ll host our semi-annual Teaching-as-Research presentation session. If you’ve recently completed a TAR project, consider signing up to share your work!

Questions or comments about our programming? Contact us at info@cirtl.net.


This Week at CIRTL

Equity-Oriented, Inclusive Teaching in STEM (Drop-in Event)
2/22: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
Learn about inclusive teaching practices – and the hurdles instructors might face in implementing them – in the final event in our Topics in STEMinism series.

What to Expect from My Teaching-as-Research Project? Reflections on the TAR Experience from a Panel of CIRTL TAR Alumni (Drop-in Event)
2/22: 5-6:30PM ET / 4-5:30PM CT / 3-4:30PM MT / 2-3:30PM PT
Thinking about doing a Teaching-as-Research (TAR) project? Hear a panel of TAR alumni discuss what they learned from the process and how they use what they learned in their current positions. This event is part of our 2017-2018 Teaching-as-Research Programming.


February Programming

Understanding Diversity and Inclusive Teaching in the Community College Environment (Drop-in Event)
2/26: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT
Learn about diversity at community colleges and inclusive teaching strategies suited to these unique environments in a panel discussion featuring faculty and administrators from community colleges in Iowa, Texas, and Southern California. This event is the final event in our series Exploring a Teaching Career at Community College.


TAR speaker signup information

All-Network TAR Presentations (Drop-in Event)
4/18: 5-6:30 PM ET / 4-5:30PM CT / 3-4:30PM MT / 2-3:30 PM PT
Present your completed TAR project and hear from others in this All-Network presentation session as dozens of TAR practitioners from across the nation share their findings. Take this opportunity to showcase your accomplishments and learn what others in the Network are doing! Sign up here if you’re interested in presenting.

Additional Info

Topics in STEMinism Event Series

Teaching-as-Research Events

Teaching at Community Colleges Event Series

Productive Mentorship Event Series

Upcoming Workshops

Attending CIRTL Drop-in Events

Attending CIRTL Courses & Workshops

CIRTL Website

CIRTL UTA Website


Job Postings

Assistant Director, CIRTL at Northwestern (Deadline: 3/1)

Preceptorships, Department of Chemistry, Yale University (Deadline: 3/9)

Biomedical Science Postdoc, UPLIFT Program, UCLA (Deadline: 4/1)

Lecturer, Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology, Yale University (Open until filled)

HHMI Postdoc, UC Santa Cruz (Open until filled)

HHMI Postdoc, UCLA (Open until filled)

Teaching Assistant Professor, Neuroscience, UNC Chapel Hill (Open until filled)

To view more postings or share a new one, join our Academic Careers & Job Postings online community.


Newsletter Signup

Did someone forward our newsletter to you? Fill out our signup form to get it sent straight to your inbox!

Miss something? Read through our newsletter archives.

The CIRTL Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.

Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net
Facebook logo Twitter logo LinkedIn logo

This material is based on work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. DUE-1231286
National Sciences Foundation logo

To unsubscribe from this list, email christopher dot abrego at mavs dot uta dot edu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *