Courses and Workshops

By on January 25, 2018

CIRTL Local

There will be various funding opportunities this semester at UTA for CIRTL projects and events. Visit out website cirtluta.linklab.domains for opportunities such as Teaching-as-Research project funding, Learning Community development funding, and Graduate Research Assistant. If you have any questions please contact Christopher (christopher dot abrego at mavs dot uta dot edu).


CIRTL Network

This week there are two important registration deadlines for our spring programming. Today, registration closes today for all but one of our spring courses. On Friday, registration closes for our first workshop of the semester – designed for international TAs looking to learn more about teaching in the US higher education system.

No time in your schedule for courses or workshops? Consider coming to one of our many drop-in, online events this spring! We’re running five online event series this semester, in addition to two featured events about Teaching-as-Research. Two series begin next week: one on teaching at community colleges, the other on women in STEM. All CIRTL’s events are open to the public, run on a drop-in basis, and require no advance registration.

Questions or comments about our programming? Contact us at info@cirtl.net.


Spring 2018 Online Workshops

Getting Ready to Teach in the American Classroom: Cross-Cultural Analysis
1/31: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT
Learn how to work with undergraduate students in this workshop designed for international teaching assistants. Cap: 25. Register by 12PM CT on Friday, January 26.

Getting Ready to teach in the American Classroom Building Rapport and Effective Communication Skills
2/7: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT
Develop and practice your own strategies for effective communication with students in this case-study-based workshop. Cap: 25. Register by 12PM CT on Friday, February 2.

Integrating Effective Teaching and Assessment Practices in Biology Lab Courses through Case Studies
2/14, 2/21 & 2/28: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT
Prepare lesson plans for biology labs that pull from case studies and promote active learning in this three-part workshop. Cap: 40. Register by 12PM CT on Friday, February 9.

Faculty Advising in a Community College Setting: What You Need to Know and How to do it Well
3/15: 4:30-6:30PM ET / 3:30-5:30PM CT / 2:30-4:30PM MT / 1:30-3:30PM PT

Learn about developmental advising and explore how it can help engage and retain all types of students at community colleges. No cap. Register by Wednesday, March 14.

Writing an Effective Teaching Philosophy Statement
3/26 & 4/9: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT

Draft a peer-reviewed statement that reflects your teaching beliefs and experiences. Cap: 40. Register by 12PM CT on Friday, March 23.

Science Communication for Any Audience
3/29, 4/5 & 4/12: 12-1:15PM ET / 11AM-12:15PM CT / 10-11:15AM MT / 9-10:15AM PT

Explore key concepts and strategies in written and oral science communication in this three-part workshop. Cap: 25. Register by 12PM CT on Friday, March 23.

Faculty Advising in a R1 Setting: What You Need to Know and How to do it Well
4/5: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT /12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT

Learn about developmental advising and explore how it can help engage and retain all types of students at research-intensive (R1) universities. No cap. Register by Wednesday, April 4.

I Completed My IDP…Now What?
4/9: 4:30-6:30PM ET / 3:30-5:30PM CT / 2:30-4:30PM MT / 1:30-3:30PM PT

Practice navigating the challenging conversations you might have with a mentor or advisor when pursuing your individual development plan. No cap. Register by Sunday, April 8.


Spring 2018 Online Courses

Diversity in the College Classroom
Mondays, 1/29-3/19: 3-4:30PM ET / 2-3:30PM CT / 1-2:30PM MT / 12-1:30PM PT
Understand the theory behind how diversity affects learning and develop practical classroom strategies in this course designed for STEM/SBE grad students and postdocs. This course has reached its capacity; additional registrants will not be enrolled.

CIRTL Reads Journal Club (short course)
Tuesdays, 1/30-4/17: Sessions will take place during the 10:30AM-12:30PM CT window; specific start and end times are TBD.
Dive into the literature on STEM teaching and learning in this discussion-based journal club. Cap: 20.

Research Mentor Training
Tuesdays, 1/30-4/10: 2:30-3:45PM ET / 1:30-2:45PM CT / 12:30-1:45PM MT / 11:30AM-12:45PM PT
Work with a community of peers to develop and improve your research mentoring skills in this engaging seminar. Cap: 30.

The College Classroom
Wednesdays, 1/31-4/11: 11:30AM-1PM ET / 10:30-12PM CT / 9:30-11AM MT / 8:30-10AM PT
Get an introduction to key learning principles and the basics of effective teaching practices in this course about teaching in the STEM college classroom. Cap: 35.

Engaging Students in the Teaching of Statistics (short course)
Wednesdays, 3/14-4/11: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT
Learn about engaging, evidence-based pedagogical practices for statistics in this short course designed for current and future instructors. Cap: 20. Note: registration for this course will remain open through Friday, March 9.


Spring 2018 MOOC

Advanced Evidence-Based Undergraduate STEM Teaching
Runs February 5 through March 30
Learn about developing effective, evidence-based STEM teaching practices at your own pace through online video modules and discussion boards in this MOOC developed by CIRTL Network faculty. Registration coming soon.


Spring 2018 Online Drop-In Events

Exploring a Teaching Career at Community College (Event series)
1/29, 2/8 & 2/26: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT
Hear community college faculty from around the country discuss their experiences in these institutions in this three-part series.

Topics in STEMinism: Strategies for Inclusive Undergraduate STEM Education (CIRTLCast series)
Thursdays in February: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
Explore the ways social and cultural contexts shape the unique experiences of women pursuing undergraduate STEM degrees.

What to Expect from My Teaching-as-Research Project?
2/22: 5-6:30PM ET / 4-5:30PM CT / 3-4:30PM MT / 2-3:30PM PT
Hear Teaching-as-Research (TAR) alumni reflect on their experiences doing TAR, including how TAR has shaped their professional and academic trajectories.

Productive Mentorship: Bringing Out the Best in Your Students (CIRTLCast series)
Thursdays in March: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
Learn how research mentoring differs for graduate and undergraduate students, and how issues of equity and inclusion impact these important relationships.

All-Network Teaching-as-Research Presentations
4/18: 5-6:30PM ET / 4-5:30PM CT / 3-4:30PM MT / 2-3:30PM PT
Hear grad students and postdocs from across the CIRTL Network share the results of their Teaching-as-Research projects.

Digging Deeper: A Focus on Research using Qualitative Design (CIRTLCast series)
Thursdays in May: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
Get an introduction to qualitative research – what it is, and how to do it – in this four-part series.

Exploring inclusive teaching within STEM disciplines: Conversations among faculty, future faculty, and students (CIRTLCast series)
Examine how inclusive teaching and issues of diversity differ across STEM disciplines in this four-part series. Details coming soon.


Spring 2018 Community of Practice

Equity in STEM for all Genders Community of Practice
This online community of practice aims to bring interested individuals together to share resources, learn from and with each other, and learn from experts in and outside of academia. This community of practice will take place asynchronously as one of CIRTL’s online learning communities.

Additional Info

CIRTL Academic Calendar

Upcoming Courses

Upcoming Workshops

Upcoming Drop-In Events

Upcoming MOOCs

Attending CIRTL Courses & Workshops

Attending CIRTL Drop-in Events

Create an Account

CIRTL Website

CIRTL UTA Website


Newsletter Signup

Did someone forward our newsletter to you? Fill out our signup form to get it sent straight to your inbox!

Miss something? Read through our newsletter archives.

The CIRTL Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.

Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net

Facebook logo
Twitter logo
LinkedIn logo

This material is based on work supported by the National
Science Foundation under
Grant No. DUE-1231286

National Sciences Foundation logo

To unsubscribe from this list, email christopher dot abrego at mavs dot uta dot edu.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *