CIRTL’s Fall 2017 Schedule

By on August 9, 2017

CIRTL Local

Teaching-as-Research and Learning Community Grants

If you are interested in having a Teaching-as-Research project and would like funding to perform one, you’re in luck! There will be a grant information session, Thursday August 10th in Nedderman Hall 604 at 1pm. Please attend to get more information about the CIRTL UTA TAR grants. If you cannot attend the session or if you have any other questions, feel free to contact Christopher (christopher dot abrego at mavs dot uta dot edu). If you would like to submit a TAR project proposal, please visit the UTA CIRTL webpage at cirtluta.linklab.domains/teaching-as-research-project-grant-proposal/. Likewise, if you’d like to be a leader for a Learning Community, visit the UTA CIRTL webpage at cirtluta.linklab.domains/lcb_grant/ to submit your LC proposal. Please email Christopher (christopher dot abrego at mavs dot uta dot edu) regarding any inquiries about the grants. Applications for both grants are due at the end of the day August 31st.


CIRTL Network

CIRTL’s Fall Programming Schedule

The CIRTL Network’s fall courses, workshops, events, MOOC, and teaching institute have been scheduled! Our fall semester begins on Monday, October 2 (at which point all our member institutions will be in session), and it ends on Friday, December 15.

One course and several workshops have tentative schedules; those are marked with an asterisk, and we have provided as much confirmed detail about their schedules as possible. As those few final schedules are set, we’ll announce them here.

Course registration will open on August 28, while workshops will open for registration on an individual basis approximately three weeks before their start date. The MOOC will open for registration later this month and registration for the teaching institute is TBD. Whenever a registration period opens, we’ll announce it in our weekly newsletter. Events run on a drop-in basis and do not require advance registration.

Questions about our programming? Contact us at info@cirtl.net.

Fall 2017 Online Courses

Teaching with Technology
Mondays, 10/2-12/4: Exact time is TBD. 90-minute sessions will fall within 11:30AM-1:30PM ET / 10:30AM-12:30PM CT / 9:30-11:30AM MT / 8:30-10:30AM PT
Discover new instructional tools and learn how to critically evaluate evolving technologies.

Teaching-as-Research
Mondays, 10/2-12/4: 2PM-3:30PM ET / 1PM-2:30PM CT / 12PM-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT
Plan and refine your own Teaching-as-Research project alongside a learning community of peers.

Creating Assessments for the STEM Classroom
Tuesdays, 10/3-11/28: 11:30AM-1PM ET / 10:30AM-12PM CT / 9:30AM-11AM MT / 8:30AM-10AM PT
Develop skills associated with creating and implementing assessments particular to STEM courses.

The College Classroom: Teaching Inclusively
Tuesdays, 10/3-11/28: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT
Study issues of inclusion and develop an inclusive micro-teaching plan in this hands-on course.

Diversity in the College Classroom
Wednesdays, 10/4-12/6: 12-1:30PM ET / 11AM-12:30PM CT / 10-11:30AM MT / 9-10:30AM PT
Understand the theory behind how diversity affects learning and develop practical classroom strategies.

Gender Bias Intervention in STEM for Women and Men
Thursdays, 10/5-12/7: 11:30AM-1:30PM ET / 10:30AM-12:30PM CT / 9:30-11:30AM MT / 8:30-10:30AM PT
Analyze gender bias and collaboratively develop approaches to counter gender bias in STEM.

Fall 2017 Online Workshops

Qualitative Research Primer: Using Narrative Data In Your Teaching-as-Research Project
Tuesdays, 10/10 and 10/24: 4:30-6:30PM ET / 3:30-5:30PM CT / 2:30-4:30PM MT / 1:30-3:30PM PT
Get an introduction to analyzing narrative data (intended especially for students pursuing a TAR project).

Finding and Evaluating Educational Literature
Friday, 10/20 and 10/27: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT
Learn how to find and critically evaluate literature for educational research.

Diversity Statement Workshop
Mondays, 10/23 and 10/30: Exact time is TBD. 90-minute sessions will fall within 4:30-6:30PM ET / 3:30-5:30PM CT / 2:30-4:30PM MT / 1:30-3:30PM PT
Learn how to draft a meaningful statement that is a common part of job applications.

Creating and Owning Your Individual Development Plan
Wednesday, 11/1: Exact time is TBD. Tentative schedule is 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT
Craft a robust IDP draft and action plan by learning the components of successful, sustainable plans

Integrating Civic Learning into the STEM Classroom
Thursdays, 11/2 and 11/9: 2:30-4PM ET / 1:30-3PM CT / 12:30-2PM MT / 11:30AM-1PM PT
Civic learning intentionally prepares students for informed and engaged participation in their communities. Learn how to develop civic learning assignments and learning goals in this workshop.

Introduction to STEM Project Based Learning
Thursdays, 11/9 and 11/16: 8-9:30PM ET / 7-8:30PM CT / 6-7:30PM MT / 5-6:30PM PT
In project-based learning, students investigate relevant, complex scientific situations to learn new concepts. Learn how to design project-based learning activities in this workshop.

Leveraging Open Source Principles and Resources for Teaching and Learning in STEM
Fridays, 11/10 and 11/17: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT
Learn the advantages and disadvantages of open source educational materials and sample two platforms with hands-on activities.

Writing a Teaching Philosophy Statement
Thursday, 11/30: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT
Draft a peer-reviewed statement that reflects your teaching beliefs and experiences.

Teaching Inclusively
Tuesday, 12/5 or 12/12 (exact date TBD): 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT
Practice navigating difficult classroom discussions around issues of inclusion and diversity.

5 Things To Do on the First and Last Day of Class
TBD
Learn essential tips for making the most of your first and last days of class.

Fall 2017 Online Drop-In Events

Topics in STEMinism: Women Preparing for Post-PhD Careers in STEM
Wednesdays in October: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
Examine the various ways in which social and cultural contexts shape women’s experiences in male-dominated STEM fields in this four-part event series. Events in this series include
10/4: The Status of Women Scientists
10/11: Preparing for and Navigating the Job Market
10/18: Women in STEM Careers Panel
10/25: Exploring Critical and/or Feminist STEM Teaching and Research

All-Network Teaching-as-Research Presentations
Wednesday, 11/29: 5-6:30PM ET / 4-5:30PM CT / 3-4:30PM MT / 2-3:30PM PT
Hear grad students and postdocs from across the CIRTL Network share the results of their Teaching-as-Research projects.

Fall 2017 MOOC

An Introduction to Evidence-Based Undergraduate STEM Teaching
Runs Monday, October 2 through Friday, November 17
Learn about STEM teaching at your own pace through online video modules and discussion boards in this MOOC developed by CIRTL Network faculty.

Fall 2017 Face-to-Face Teaching Institute

Teaching at Teaching Intensive Institution
Friday, October 6
This day-long institute gives grad students and postdocs an introduction to teaching at teaching-intensive institutions. The institute is co-sponsored by University of Massachusetts, Amherst and will take place at Bridgewater State University in Bridgewater, Massachusetts.

CIRTL Quick Links

Upcoming Courses

Upcoming Workshops

Upcoming Drop-In Events

Upcoming MOOCs

Attending CIRTL Courses & Workshops

Attending CIRTL Events

CIRTL Website

Create an Account

UTA CIRTL Website


Job Postings

STEM Education Evaluator, Center for Teaching and Learning, Yale University (Deadline: none listed)

Assistant Program Director-STEM Education, Center for Teaching and Learning, Yale University (Deadline: none listed)

Post-Doctoral Research Associates, STEM Education Research, Michigan State University (Open until filled)

To share a job posting, join our Academic Careers & Job Postings online community.


Beyond CIRTL: Related Teaching & Learning Events

Evidence-based Teaching Workshop, Vanderbilt University (8/14-15)

Academic Research Colloquium, University of Dayton School of Engineering (Application Deadline: 9/1)


Newsletter Signup

Did someone forward our newsletter to you? Fill out our signup form to get it sent straight to your inbox!


Opportunities across the Network

Many of our members run local activities that, while not official CIRTL programming, are open for broader participation. If you have a local program open to outside participants, let us know about it here.

The CIRTL Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.

Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net

Facebook logo
Twitter logo
LinkedIn logo

This material is based on work supported by the National
Science Foundation under
Grant No. DUE-1231286

National Sciences Foundation logo

To unsubscribe from this list, email christopher.abrego@mavs.uta.edu.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *