CIRTL Funding and Programming

By on February 5, 2018

CIRTL Local

There will be various funding opportunities this semester at UTA for CIRTL projects and events. Visit out website cirtluta.linklab.domains for opportunities and deadlines.

If you have any questions please contact Christopher (christopher dot abrego at mavs dot uta dot edu).


CIRTL Network

This week our spring MOOC starts (there’s still time to register!), we’re launching our drop-in event series on Women in STEM and continuing our series on teaching at community colleges, and our workshop on teaching biology labs is closing for registration.

Questions or comments about our programming? Contact us at info@cirtl.net.


This Week at CIRTL

Advancing Learning Through Evidence-Based STEM Teaching (CIRTL MOOC)
Runs February 5 through March 30
Learn about developing effective, evidence-based STEM teaching practices at your own pace through online video modules and discussion boards in this MOOC developed by CIRTL Network faculty. Register by February 5.

Stereotype Threat and Implicit Bias (Drop-in event)
2/8: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
Join us for a discussion of how gender bias impacts STEM teaching and learning, and how instructors can create inclusive environments. This event is part of the series Topics in STEMinism: Strategies for Inclusive Undergraduate STEM Education.

Getting Hired at a Community College: Tips from Faculty on Hiring Committees (Drop-in event)
2/8: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT
Looking for work at community colleges? Get tips to help you survive the hiring process in this event featuring faculty that serve on the hiring committees at community colleges in Iowa, Texas, and Southern California. This event is part of the series Exploring a Teaching Career at Community College.

Integrating Effective Teaching and Assessment Practices in Biology Lab Courses through Case Studies (Workshop)
2/14, 2/21 & 2/28: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT
Prepare lesson plans for biology labs that pull from case studies and promote active learning in this three-part workshop. Cap: 40. Register by 12PM CT on Friday, February 9.


February Programming

Institutional Programs to Foster Belonging (Drop-in Event)
2/15: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
Hear from faculty and institutional leaders about programs and initiatives designed to foster belonging for undergraduate women in STEM. This event is part of the series Topics in STEMinism: Strategies for Inclusive Undergraduate STEM Education.

Equity-Oriented, Inclusive Teaching in STEM (Drop-in Event)
2/22: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
Learn about inclusive teaching practices – and the hurdles instructors might face in implementing them – in the final event in our Topics in STEMinism series.

What to Expect from My Teaching-as-Research Project? Reflections on the TAR Experience from a Panel of CIRTL TAR Alumni (Drop-in Event)
2/22: 5-6:30PM ET / 4-5:30PM CT / 3-4:30PM MT / 2-3:30PM PT
Thinking about doing a Teaching-as-Research (TAR) project? Hear a panel of TAR alumni discuss what they learned from the process and how they use what they learned in their current positions. This event is part of our 2017-2018 Teaching-as-Research Programming.

Understanding Diversity and Inclusive Teaching in the Community College Environment (Drop-in Event)
2/26: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT
Learn about diversity at community colleges and inclusive teaching strategies suited to these unique environments in a panel discussion featuring faculty and administrators from community colleges in Iowa, Texas, and Southern California. This event is the final event in our series Exploring a Teaching Career at Community College.

Additional Info

Upcoming Drop-In Events

Attending CIRTL Drop-in Events

Upcoming Workshops

Attending CIRTL Courses & Workshops

Upcoming MOOCs

CIRTL Academic Calendar

Create an Account

CIRTL Website

CIRTL UTA Website


Job Postings

Postdoctoral Fellow, Distance-Learning Teacher Training, Tufts School of Medicine

To view more postings or share a new one, join our Academic Careers & Job Postings online community.


Newsletter Signup

Did someone forward our newsletter to you? Fill out our signup form to get it sent straight to your inbox!

Miss something? Read through our newsletter archives.

The CIRTL Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.

Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net
Facebook logo Twitter logo LinkedIn logo

This material is based on work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. DUE-1231286
National Sciences Foundation logo

To unsubscribe from this list, email christopher dot abrego at mavs dot uta dot edu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *