CIRTL Fall Term Begins

By on October 3, 2017

CIRTL Network

CIRTL’s fall term begins today! We’re kicking off the semester with a drop-in event series on women in STEM, open registration for all of our fall workshops (more on this below), and a MOOC and an in-person teaching institute still open for registration.

We always value getting feedback from our members about how the CIRTL Network can improve its cross-Network programming. In response to member feedback, we’re changing our approach to workshop registration. Rather than open registration for workshops 3 weeks before a workshop begins, all our fall workshops are now open for registration. They’ll still close for registration about 1 week before they start, and STEM/SBE grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions will still get priority when a workshop exceeds its cap.

Questions or comments about our programming? Contact us at info@cirtl.net.


Drop-In Events

Topics in STEMinism: Women Preparing for Post-PhD Careers in STEM
Wednesdays in October: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
Examine the various ways in which social and cultural contexts shape women’s experiences in male-dominated STEM fields in this four-part event series. Events in the series include:

10/4: The Status of Women Scientists
10/11: Preparing for and Navigating the Job Market
10/18: Women in STEM Careers Panel
10/25: Exploring Critical and/or Feminist STEM Teaching and Research


Workshops

Before you can register to attend one of our online workshops, you must create an account on our website. We prioritize STEM/SBE grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions when processing enrollment; we will refer to the institution, role, and discipline listed in your profile to help determine your enrollment priority.

Qualitative Research Primer: Using Narrative Data in Your Teaching-as-Research Project
Tuesday October 10 and 24, at 4:30-6:30PM ET / 3:30-5:30PM CT / 2:30-4:30PM MT / 1:30-3:30PM PT
Get an introduction to analyzing narrative data (intended especially for students pursuing a TAR project). Cap: 30. Registration: 9/18-10/2.

5 Things To Do on the First and Last Day of Class (Workshop)
Thursday October 19 and November 16 at 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM
Learn essential tips for making the most of your first and last days of class. Cap: 50. Registration: 9/25-10/9.

Finding and Evaluating Educational Literature (Workshop)
Friday 10/20 and 10/27: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT
Learn how to find and critically evaluate literature for educational research. Cap: 20. Registration: 9/25-10/9.

Creating and Owning Your Individual Development Plan
Wednesday, 11/1: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT
Craft a robust IDP draft and action plan by learning the components of successful, sustainable plans. Cap: 75. Registration closes 10/23.

Integrating Civic Learning into the STEM Classroom
Thursdays, 11/2 and 11/9: 2:30-4PM ET / 1:30-3PM CT / 12:30-2PM MT / 11:30AM-1PM PT
Civic learning intentionally prepares students for informed and engaged participation in their communities. Learn how to develop civic learning assignments and learning goals in this workshop. Cap: 25. Registration closes 10/23.

Introduction to STEM Project Based Learning
Thursdays, 11/9 and 11/16: 8-9:30PM ET / 7-8:30PM CT / 6-7:30PM MT / 5-6:30PM PT
In project-based learning, students investigate relevant, complex scientific situations to learn new concepts. Learn how to design project-based learning activities in this workshop. Cap: 28. Registration closes 10/30.

Leveraging Open Source Principles and Resources for Teaching and Learning in STEM
Fridays, 11/10 and 11/17: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT
Learn the advantages and disadvantages of open source educational materials and sample two platforms with hands-on activities. Cap: 50. Registration closes 10/30.

Writing a Teaching Philosophy Statement
Thursday, 11/30: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT
Draft a peer-reviewed statement that reflects your teaching beliefs and experiences. Cap: 50. Registration closes 11/20.

Teaching Inclusively
Tuesday, 12/5: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT
Practice navigating difficult classroom discussions around issues of inclusion and diversity. Cap: 40. Registration closes 11/27.


CIRTL MOOC

An Introduction to Evidence-Based Undergraduate STEM Teaching
Runs Monday, October 2 through Friday, November 17
Learn about STEM teaching at your own pace through online video modules and discussion boards in this MOOC developed by CIRTL Network faculty. No cap. Registration: 8/28-10/2.

In-Person Teaching Institute

Teaching at Teaching Intensive Institutions
Friday, October 6: 9AM – 3PM ET at Westfield State University in Westfield, MA
University of Massachusetts Amherst, a CIRTL member, is hosting a day-long institute that will introduce graduate students and post-docs to faculty careers at teaching-intensive institutions. CIRTL grad students and postdocs are encouraged to apply. Registration will remain open until the institute fills up.

Fall Calendar

10/2: Fall term begins; all workshops open for registration

10/2: Qualitative Research Primer workshop registration closes

10/2: MOOC begins; register by today

10/4: The Status of Women Scientists (drop-in event)

Download our full fall calendar

Can’t download? View in Google Calendar


Job Postings

Lecturer, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University of Dayton (Deadline: 10/15)

Assistant/Associate Professor of Instruction, Neuroscience, Northwestern University (Deadline: 10/15)

Education & Diversity Programs Manager, American Physical Society

Assistant Biology Professor, Heidelberg University (Open until filled)

To view more postings or share a new one, join our Academic Careers & Job Postings online community.


Beyond CIRTL: Related Teaching & Learning Events

Starting 10/2: Planning Your Scientific Journey (Biology MOOC)

10/4: NSF GRFP Workshop: How to Address the Broader Impact in Your Fellowship Application

Due 11/15: Call for Abstracts: NARST 2018 Graduate Student Research Symposium


Newsletter Signup

Did someone forward our newsletter to you? Fill out our signup form to get it sent straight to your inbox!

Miss something? Read through our newsletter archives.

The CIRTL Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.

Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net

Facebook logo
Twitter logo
LinkedIn logo

This material is based on work supported by the National
Science Foundation under
Grant No. DUE-1231286

National Sciences Foundation logo

To unsubscribe from this list, email christopher.abrego@mavs.uta.edu.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *