CIRTL Events

By on November 30, 2017

CIRTL Local: Network TAR Presentations and Teaching Philosophy Workshop

This Thursday, November 30, we will have an on campus workshop for writing teaching philosophy statements (TPS). To have a more fruitful event, please send your TPS drafts to Christopher (christopher dot abrego at mavs dot uta dot edu) by this Tuesday. Also, if you haven’t already done so, please download and review the documents regarding writing TPS (TPS overview and TPS prompt worksheet). See you at the workshop!

Also, Ph.D. candidate Goutam Sarker will be presenting the results of his Teaching as Research project on the CIRTL All-Network presentation this Wednesday. Please join the event from 4-5:30pm to support our representative from UT Arlington and to get more interested in performing your own TAR project. To register for the event, click the following link.

CIRTL Network

We hope you’ll join us this Wednesday for the CIRTL Network’s fall Teaching-as-Research presentations! This online event is open to the public, and is an excellent opportunity for anyone interested in learning more about teaching-as-research and the CIRTL Network more broadly.

Interested in our Teaching Inclusively workshop? Registration is open for one more week. Sign up now!

Questions or comments about our programming? Contact us at

Teaching-as-Research Presentations

All-Network Teaching-as-Research Presentations
Wednesday, Nov. 29 at 5-6:30PM ET / 4-5:30PM CT / 3-4:30PM MT / 2-3:30PM PT
Every year, the CIRTL Network showcases what graduate students and postdocs at top universities are doing to become better STEM teachers. These students take on Teaching-as-Research (TAR) projects designed to explore innovative new approaches in STEM/SBE classrooms. On Wednesday, November 29, 12 TAR students will report their findings back to the Network. See project details and register to attend at the link above.

Workshops Open for Registration

Teaching Inclusively
Tuesday, 12/5: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT
Practice navigating difficult classroom discussions around issues of inclusion and diversity. No cap. Registration closes 12/4 at 12PM Central Time.

Job Postings

Asst. Dir. of Diversity & Inclusion, Searle Center for Advancing Learning & Teaching, Northwestern University (Deadline: 12/15)

Assistant Professor of DBER, College of Sciences & Mathematics, Auburn University (Deadline: 12/1)

To view more postings or share a new one, join our Academic Careers & Job Postings online community.

Newsletter Signup

Did someone forward our newsletter to you? Fill out our signup form to get it sent straight to your inbox!

Miss something? Read through our newsletter archives.

The CIRTL Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at

Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538

Facebook logo
Twitter logo
LinkedIn logo

This material is based on work supported by the National
Science Foundation under
Grant No. DUE-1231286

National Sciences Foundation logo

To unsubscribe from this list, email christopher dot abrego at mavs dot uta dot edu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *