[cirtl-announce] Thursday: “A Respected Graduate Student is a Productive Graduate Student”

By on March 6, 2018


Funding is still available at UTA for CIRTL projects and events. Visit out website cirtluta.linklab.domains for opportunities and deadlines.

If you have any questions please contact Christopher (christopher dot abrego at mavs dot uta dot edu).

CIRTL Network

This Thursday our CIRTLCast series on productive mentorship continues with an hour-long, drop-in event featuring graduate students reflecting on how their relationships with colleagues impact their productivity as researchers. We hope you’ll join us for this online event!

Questions about our programming? Contact us at info@cirtl.net.

This Week at CIRTL

A Respected Graduate Student is a Productive Graduate Student (Drop-in Event)
3/8: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
Join us to hear a panel of graduate students discuss what it means to be respected as a colleague by their mentors and how that sense of respect, trust, and autonomy affect their productivity as researchers. This event is the second in our four-part series on productive mentorship.

Upcoming Programming

How Amazing Mentors Think About Mentoring (Drop-in Event)
3/15: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
Hear a panel of mentors recommended as exemplar by their mentees share their strategies for effective mentorship through specific narratives that illustrate what they think of as pivotal moments for their mentees. This event is the third in our four-part series on productive mentorship.

Teaching as Mentorship: Understanding Classroom Impact (Drop-in Event)
3/22: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
Learn about inclusive “teaching as mentorship” practices and how to incorporate them into your pedagogy and syllabi in this event led by a Teaching-as-Research mentor. At the end of the event, participants will be able to develop an action plan based on the hour-long discussion. This event is the last in our four-part series on productive mentorship.

TAR Speaker Signup Information

All-Network TAR Presentations (Drop-in Event)
4/18: 5-6:30 PM ET / 4-5:30PM CT / 3-4:30PM MT / 2-3:30 PM PT
Present your completed TAR project and hear from others in this All-Network presentation session as dozens of TAR practitioners from across the nation share their findings. Take this opportunity to showcase your accomplishments and learn what others in the Network are doing! Sign up here if you’re interested in presenting.

Additional Info

Productive Mentorship Event Series

Attending CIRTL Drop-in Events

CIRTL Website


Questions about our programming? Contact our help desk at info@cirtl.net.

Job Postings

Preceptorships, Department of Chemistry, Yale University (Deadline: 3/9)

Experiential Learning Director, Biomedical Engineering, Northwestern (Deadline: 3/12)

Founding Director, Teaching and Learning Center, University of Missouri (Deadline: 3/23)

Ecology and Global Change Postdoc, University of California Riverside (Deadline: 3/31)

Biomedical Science Postdoc, UPLIFT Program, UCLA (Deadline: 4/1)

Teaching Track Faculty Position, Whiting School of Engineering, Johns Hopkins University (Open until filled)

To view more postings or share a new one, join our Academic Careers & Job Postings online community.

Newsletter Signup

Did someone forward our newsletter to you? Fill out our signup form to get it sent straight to your inbox!

Miss something? Read through our newsletter archives.

The CIRTL Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.

Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net
Facebook logo Twitter logo LinkedIn logo

This material is based on work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. DUE-1231286
National Sciences Foundation logo

To unsubscribe from this list, email christopher dot abrego at mavs dot uta dot edu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *