[cirtl-announce] This Week: Identifying Implicit Bias in STEM

By on October 8, 2018



The CIRTL Network

This morning our drop-in, online event series continues with a discussion on how to identify implicit bias in ourselves and others. Throughout the week, registration is open for three workshops happening later this fall: on learning communities, on developing an IDP, and on developing your leadership style.

Questions about our programming? Contact us at info@cirtl.net.


Fall 2018 Online Drop-In Events
Events have live, real-time online sessions; event series include a handful of events that revolve around a unifying theme in STEM teaching and learning. Events run on a drop-in basis and do not require advance registration. Participants can attend as many or as few events as they like in a given series.

How Can We Identify Implicit Biases in Ourselves and Others?

Monday, 10/8: 11:30AM – 12:30PM ET / 10:30-11:30AM CT / 9:30-10:30AM MT / 8:30-9:30AM PT
Learn how to identify implicit bias when you see it, and work with event hosts, our guest speaker, and other attendees to identify strategies to counteract such bias in STEM disciplines. Other events in CIRTLCast series on implicit bias in STEM include:
10/1 Recording: How Pervasive Is Implicit Bias in STEM?
10/22: How Can We Minimize Implicit Bias in Our Academic Communities?
10/29: How Can We Interrupt and Mitigate Implicit Bias When We Witness It?



Fall 2018 Online Workshops
Workshops have live, real-time online sessions and require independent work outside of sessions. Workshops can have one, two, or three online sessions (multi-session workshops typically have one session per week). Registration is required; STEM grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive enrollment priority.

Creating Effective Learning Communities
Wednesdays 10/17 & 10/31: 4-5:30PM ET / 3-4:30PM CT / 2-3:30PM MT / 1-2:30PM PT
Understand what makes for a successful learning community and develop strategies you can apply to your own communities in this two-part online workshop. Cap: 50. Register by 10/19 to attend.

Creating and Owning Your Individual Development Plan
Tuesdays 10/23 & 10/30: 4:00-5:30PM ET / 3-4:30PM CT / 2-3:30PM MT / 1:00PM-2:30PM PT
Craft a robust IDP draft and action plan by learning the components of successful, sustainable plans in this two-part online workshop. Cap: 75. Register by 10/12 to attend.

Identifying and Developing Your Leadership Style
Mondays 11/12 & 11/26: 3-4:30PM ET / 2-3:30PM CT / 1-2:30PM MT / 12-1:30PM PT
Understand the difference between management and leadership, and learn skills that will help you do both well when you become a faculty member in this 2-part online workshop. Cap: 50. Register by 11/9 to attend

Additional Info

CIRTL Academic Calendar

Upcoming Workshops

Upcoming Drop-In Events

Upcoming MOOCs

Attending CIRTL Courses & Workshops

Attending CIRTL Events

CIRTL Website

Create an Account


Job Posting

Postdoc, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor

To view more postings or share a new one, join our Academic Careers & Job Postings online community.


Newsletter Signup

Did someone forward our newsletter to you? Fill out our signup form to get it sent straight to your inbox!

Miss something? Read through our newsletter archives.

The CIRTL Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.

Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net

Facebook logo
Twitter logo
LinkedIn logo
YouTube logo

This material is based on work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. DUE-1231286
National Sciences Foundation logo

To unsubscribe from this list, email Goutam Sarker atgsarker at uta dot edu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *