[cirtl-announce] This Week at CIRTL: Implicit Bias, Evidence-Based MOOC, IDP Workshop

By on October 1, 2018



The CIRTL Network

CIRTL’s fall term begins this week! This morning we’re hosting a drop-in, online event on bias in STEM, this week our MOOC , on evidence-based STEM teaching begins (it’s not too late to sign up or to host an MCLC!), and this Friday early bird registration closes for our upcoming online workshop on drafting an individual development statement (regular registration opens next Monday).

Questions about our programming? Contact us at info@cirtl.net.


Fall 2018 Online Drop-In Events
Events have live, real-time online sessions; event series include a handful of events that revolve around a unifying theme in STEM teaching and learning. Events run on a drop-in basis and do not require advance registration. Participants can attend as many or as few events as they like in a given series.

How Pervasive Is Implicit Bias in STEM?

Monday, 10/1: 11:30AM – 12:30PM ET / 10:30-11:30AM CT / 9:30-10:30AM MT / 8:30-9:30AM PT
Examine the prevalence of implicit bias is in STEM and higher education in this online event. Our hosts and guest speaker will share a range of research and resources, and participants will be invited to engage, discuss, and ask questions. Other events in CIRTLCast series on implicit bias in STEM include:
10/8: How Can We Identify Implicit Biases in Ourselves and Others?
10/22: How Can We Minimize Implicit Bias in Our Academic Communities?
10/29: How Can We Interrupt and Mitigate Implicit Bias When We Witness It?


Fall 2018 MOOC
CIRTL MOOCs take place on the EdX platform and use video-based modules, discussion boards, and peer-reviewed assignments to teach participants about evidence-based STEM teaching. Registration is required; there is no cost to participate and no enrollment cap. For more information, visit the CIRTL MOOC website.

MOOC-Centered Learning Communities (MCLCs)
October 1 through November 25
Interested in facilitating an MCLC on your local campus? Currently eight campuses have MCLCs planned for the fall: University of British Columbia, University of Georgia – Griffin Campus, University of Wisconsin-Madison, University at Buffalo, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Yale University, and University of Nebraska-Lincoln. If you are interested in being an MCLC facilitator please register at http://stemteachingcourse.org/mooc-centered-learning-communities-mclc/mclc-facilitators to receive more information from the MOOC’s teaching team.


Fall 2018 Online Workshops
Workshops have live, real-time online sessions and require independent work outside of sessions. Workshops can have one, two, or three online sessions (multi-session workshops typically have one session per week). Registration is required; STEM grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive enrollment priority.
Creating and Owning Your Individual Development Plan
Tuesdays 10/23 & 10/30: 4:00-5:30PM ET / 3-4:30PM CT / 2-3:30PM MT / 1:00PM-2:30PM PT
Craft a robust IDP draft and action plan by learning the components of successful, sustainable plans in this two-part online workshop. Cap: 75. Early bird registration – for participants at CIRTL member institutions – closes this Friday.

Additional Info

CIRTL Academic Calendar

Upcoming Workshops

Upcoming Drop-In Events

Upcoming MOOCs

Attending CIRTL Courses & Workshops

Attending CIRTL Events

CIRTL Website

Create an Account


Job Posting

Postdoc Academy Program Manager, Boston University (Deadline: 10/1)

Postdoc, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor

To view more postings or share a new one, join our Academic Careers & Job Postings online community.


Newsletter Signup

Did someone forward our newsletter to you? Fill out our signup form to get it sent straight to your inbox!

Miss something? Read through our newsletter archives.

The CIRTL Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.

Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net

Facebook logo Twitter logo LinkedIn logo YouTube logo

This material is based on work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. DUE-1231286
National Sciences Foundation logo

To unsubscribe from this list, email Goutam Sarker atgsarker at uta dot edu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *