This Wednesday: Women In Academia Discuss STEM Careers

By on October 16, 2017

CIRTL Network

This week we’re continuing our Topics in STEMinism drop-in event series with a panel discussion of women reflecting on their experiences in different types of academic careers in STEM. We hope you’ll join us!

Also this week, registration continues for six of our online workshops happening later this fall. Two of our workshops – on civic learning in STEM and writing individual development plans – close for registration next Friday at noon. Space is still available in both; sign up now to take part!

Lastly, speaker registration for next month’s Teaching-as-Research presentations remains open through Friday, November 3.

Questions or comments about our programming? Contact us at info@cirtl.net.

Happening This Week

Women in STEM Careers Panel (Drop-in Event)
Wednesday, 10/18: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
Our Topics in STEMinism event series continues this week with a panel discussion of STEM careers in academia. Panelists from Indiana University will answer questions from the audience as well as discuss broad topics like navigating departmental cultures and balancing professional and personal priorities. This series concludes with a final event next week:

10/25: Exploring Critical and/or Feminist STEM Teaching and Research

All-Network TAR Presentations (Speaker Signup)
Register by November 3 to present on November 29
If you’ve recently completed a Teaching-as-Research project, you’re invited to share your work with the entire CIRTL Network at our Fall 2017 all-Network online presentation session. Take this opportunity to showcase your accomplishments and learn what others in the Network are doing! Sign up here to present.


Workshop Registration Closing Next Week

Creating and Owning Your Individual Development Plan
Wednesday, 11/1: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT
Craft a robust IDP draft and action plan by learning the components of successful, sustainable plans. Cap: 75. Registration closes 10/27 at 12PM Central Time.

Finding and Evaluating Educational Literature
(Workshop)

Friday 10/20 and 10/27: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT
Learn how to find and critically evaluate literature for educational research. Cap: 20. Registration: 9/25-10/9.

Integrating Civic Learning into the STEM Classroom
Thursdays, 11/2 and 11/9: 2:30-4PM ET / 1:30-3PM CT / 12:30-2PM MT / 11:30AM-1PM PT
Civic learning intentionally prepares students for informed and engaged participation in their communities. Learn how to develop civic learning assignments and learning goals in this workshop. Cap: 25. Registration closes 10/23.


Workshops with continuing registration
Create an account on our website to register. We prioritize STEM/SBE grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions when processing enrollment; we will refer to the institution, role, and discipline listed in your profile to help determine your enrollment priority.

Preparing for and Navigating the Job Market (Drop-in Event)
Wednesday, 10/11: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
Our Topics in STEMinism event series continues this week with a panel discussion of the hurdles in the women face navigating the STEM job market, essential job-hunting skills, and ideas for inclusion. Other events in this series include:
10/18: Women in STEM Careers Panel
10/25: Exploring Critical and/or Feminist STEM Teaching and Research


Workshops with continuing registration

Before you can register to attend one of our online workshops, you must create an account on our website. We prioritize STEM/SBE grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions when processing enrollment; we will refer to the institution, role, and discipline listed in your profile to help determine your enrollment priority.

Introduction to STEM Project Based Learning
Thursdays, 11/9 and 11/16: 8-9:30PM ET / 7-8:30PM CT / 6-7:30PM MT / 5-6:30PM PT
In project-based learning, students investigate relevant, complex scientific situations to learn new concepts. Learn how to design project-based learning activities in this workshop. Cap: 28. Registration closes 11/3 at 12PM Central Time.

Leveraging Open Source Principles and Resources for Teaching and Learning in STEM
Fridays, 11/10 and 11/17: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT
Learn the advantages and disadvantages of open source educational materials and sample two platforms with hands-on activities. Cap: 50. Registration closes 10/30.

Writing a Teaching Philosophy Statement
Thursday, 11/30: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT
Draft a peer-reviewed statement that reflects your teaching beliefs and experiences. Cap: 50. Registration closes 11/20.

Teaching Inclusively
Tuesday, 12/5: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT
Practice navigating difficult classroom discussions around issues of inclusion and diversity. Cap: 40. Registration closes 11/27.

10/11: Women in STEM Careers Panel (drop-in event)

Download our full fall calendar

Can’t download? View in Google Calendar


Job Postings

Education & Diversity Programs Manager, American Physical Society

Assistant Biology Professor, Heidelberg University (Open until filled)

To view more postings or share a new one, join our Academic Careers & Job Postings online community.


Beyond CIRTL: Related Teaching & Learning Events

11/8: The Next 10 Years: Helping STEM Students Thrive online event series (hosted by University of Buffalo and Cornell University)

Due 11/15: Call for Abstracts: NARST 2018 Graduate Student Research Symposium


Newsletter Signup

Did someone forward our newsletter to you? Fill out our signup form to get it sent straight to your inbox!

Miss something? Read through our newsletter archives.

The CIRTL Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.

Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net

Facebook logo
Twitter logo
LinkedIn logo

This material is based on work supported by the National
Science Foundation under
Grant No. DUE-1231286

National Sciences Foundation logo

To unsubscribe from this list, email christopher.abrego@mavs.uta.edu.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *