[cirtl-announce] Spring 2019 Programming Preview

By on December 3, 2018



The CIRTL Network

This spring the CIRTL Network’s online programming includes 3 courses, 1 MOOC, 3 workshops, and a drop-in event. Schedules will be online and announced by December 10..

Courses and workshops require advance registration during defined registration periods; the MOOC and drop-in events do not. Early bird registration for participants from CIRTL member institutions will open December 10; regular registration, open to all participants, opens on a staggered basis relative to when programming takes place.

Questions about our programming? Contact us at info@cirtl.net.

hr/>

Fall 2018 Online Courses
Courses have live, real-time online sessions and require regular homework outside of those class meetings. Short courses typically meet weekly for one to two months, while full courses typically meet for two to three months. Registration is required; STEM grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive enrollment priority.

The College Classroom (Full course)
Mondays 1/28-4/15: 1 – 2:30PM ET / 12 – 1:30PM CT / 11AM – 12:30PM MT / 10 – 11:30AM PT
Get an introduction to key learning principles and the basics of effective teaching practices in this course about teaching in the STEM college classroom. Cap: 30.

Diversity in the College Classroom (Full course)
Tuesdays 2/26-4/23: 11:30AM – 1PM ET / 10:30AM – 12PM CT / 9:30 – 11AM MT / 8:30 – 10AM PT
Understand the theory behind how diversity affects learning and develop practical classroom strategies in this course designed for STEM/SBE grad students and postdocs. Cap: 30.

Engaging Students in the Teaching of Statistics (Short course)
Thursdays 3/21-4/18: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT
Learn about engaging, evidence-based pedagogical practices for statistics in this short course designed for current and future instructors. Cap: 20.


Spring 2019 Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs)
CIRTL MOOCs take place on the EdX platform and use video-based modules, discussion boards, and peer-reviewed assignments to teach participants about different aspects of evidence-based STEM teaching over the course of 8 weeks. Registration is required; there is no cost to participate and no enrollment cap. For more information, visit the CIRTL MOOC website.

Advancing Learning through Evidence-Based STEM Teaching
Weekly asynchronous modules from 2/4 through 3/29.
Learn about developing effective, evidence-based STEM teaching practices at your own pace through online video modules and discussion boards in this MOOC developed by CIRTL Network faculty. No cap.


Spring 2019 Online Workshops
Workshops have live, real-time online sessions and require independent work outside of those meetings. Workshops can have one, two, or three online sessions (multi-session workshops typically have one session per week). Registration is required; STEM grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive enrollment priority.

Getting Ready To Teach in the American Classroom: Building Rapport and Effective Communication Skills Wednesday 2/6: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT
Develop and practice your own strategies for effective communication with students in this case-study-based online workshop. Cap: 40.

Writing a Diversity Statement
Schedule TBD
Draft a diversity statement – sought after in job applications – that incorporates your own experiences and helpful strategies in this two-part online workshop

Teaching with Technology Thursday 2/28: 1-2:30PM ET / 12-1:30PM CT / 11AM-12:30PM MT / 10-11:30AM PT
Develop and practice your own strategies for effective communication with students in this case-study-based online workshop. Cap: 40.


Spring 2019 Drop-In Events
Events have live, real-time online sessions; event series include a handful of events that revolve around a unifying theme in STEM teaching and learning. Events run on a drop-in basis and do not require advance registration. Participants can attend as many or as few events as they like in a given series.

All-Network Teaching-as-Research Presentations Wednesday 4/17: 5-6:30PM ET / 4-5:30PM CT / 3-4:30PM MT / 2-3:30PM PT
Hear grad students and postdocs from across the CIRTL Network share the results of their Teaching-as-Research projects in this stand-alone, drop-in online event. No cap.

Additional Info

CIRTL Academic Calendar


Job Postings

Visiting Assistant Biology Professor, Davidson College (Deadline: 1/5/19)

To view more postings or share a new one, join our Academic Careers & Job Postings online community.


Newsletter Signup

Did someone forward our newsletter to you? Fill out our signup form to get it sent straight to your inbox!

Miss something? Read through our newsletter archives.

The CIRTL Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.

Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net

Facebook logo Twitter logo LinkedIn logo YouTube logo

This material is based on work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. DUE-1231286
National Sciences Foundation logo


To unsubscribe from this list, email Goutam Sarker at gsarker at uta dot edu.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *