[cirtl-announce] Professional Development Workshops with the CIRTL Network

By on August 27, 2018


The CIRTL Network

Looking for some professional development this fall? The CIRTL Network is offering several online professional development opportunities designed for STEM/SBE graduate students and postdocs interested in faculty careers. Most of these online workshops have enrollment caps; all require advance registration.

Want more? The CIRTL Network offers a wide range of programming that goes beyond professional development to teach participants about four pedagogical fundamentals: evidence-based teaching, learning through diversity, teaching-as-research, and learning communities. Stay tuned for upcoming newsletters highlighting fall programming that digs deep into each of these themes.

Questions about our programming? Contact us at info@cirtl.net.


September

The Academic Job Search(Workshop)
Wednesdays, 9/12 & 9/19: 1-2:30PM ET / 12-1:30PM CT / 11AM-12:30PM MT / 10-11:30AM PT
Learn how to navigate the academic job market and uncover a wide range of tools and resources available to academics on the job hunt in this 2-part online workshop. Cap: 50.

Writing an Effective NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program Proposal (Workshop)
Synchronous session: Thursday, 9/13 at 3:30-5:30PM ET / 2:30-4:30PM CT / 1:30-3:30PM MT / 12:30-2:30PM PT
Get a guided introduction to the application process for the National Science Foundation's Graduate Research Fellowship Program in this unique 3-part workshop that blends recorded lectures with a synchronous online session to bring participants together from all across the country. No cap.

Getting the Job: How to Frame and Sell Your Teaching-as-Research Experience in Your Job Search(Workshop)
Fridays, 9/28 & 10/5: 12-2PM ET / 11AM-1PM CT / 10AM-12PM MT / 9-11AM PT
Practice specific ways you can turn your Teaching-as-Research (TAR) project into an asset in the job hunt in this 2-part online workshop designed for students who have completed a TAR project. Cap: 30.

October

Creating and Owning Your Individual Development Plan (Workshop)
Tuesdays 10/23 & 10/30: 4:00-5:30PM ET / 3-4:30PM CT / 2-3:30PM MT / 1:00PM-2:30PM PT
Craft a robust IDP draft and action plan by learning the components of successful, sustainable plans in this two-part online workshop. Cap: 75.

November

Identifying and Developing Your Leadership Style (Workshop)
Mondays, 11/12 & 11/26: 3-4:30PM ET / 2-3:30PM CT / 1-2:30PM MT / 12-1:30PM PT
Understand the difference between management and leadership, and learn skills that will help you do both well when you become a faculty member in this 2-part online workshop. Cap: 50.

Additional Info

CIRTL Academic Calender

CIRTL Academic Calender

Upcoming Workshops

Upcoming Drop-in Events

Upcoming MOOCs

Attending CIRTL Courses & Workshops

Attending CIRTL Events

Create an account

The CIRTL Network Website

CIRTL UTA Website

Questions about CIRTL programming? Contact our help desk at info@cirtl.net.


Job Postings

Postdoc Academy Postdoc, Northwestern University (Deadline: 9/15)

Adjunct Instructors, Chatham University

Career Exploration Program Manager, Cornell University

To view job postings or share a new one, join our Academic Careers & Job Postings online community.


The CIRTL Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.

Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net
Facebook logo Twitter logo LinkedIn logo YouTube logo

This material is based on work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. DUE-1231286
National Sciences Foundation logo

To unsubscribe from this list, email Goutam Sarker atgsarker at uta dot edu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *