[cirtl-announce] How viewing groups can complement online events

By on March 18, 2019



 

How viewing groups can complement online events

Would you like to amplify the impact of CIRTL's online programming at your institution? One way to do this is to organize a local viewing group for a drop-in event or, in certain cases, a CIRTL workshop.

Viewing groups, sometimes referred to as viewing parties (usually once food becomes involved), enable local participants to tailor discussions about online programming to fit their own specific goals.

Check out our handy support guide for hosting viewing groups to learn more about the logistics of setting up your own group. We recently added a section that features tips and takeaways from UTA CIRTL leader Lisa Berry's experience running viewing groups, to better contextualize the benefits of this hybrid approach to online learning.

Questions about our programming? Contact us at info@cirtl.net.


Spring 2019 Drop-In Events
Events have live, real-time online sessions; event series include a handful of events that revolve around a unifying theme in STEM teaching and learning. Events run on a drop-in basis and do not require advance registration. Participants can attend as many or as few events as they like in a given series.

Understanding Diversity and Inclusive Teaching in the Community College Setting
Thursday 4/11: 1-2:30PM ET / 12-1:30PM CT / 11AM-12:30PM MT / 10-11:30AM PT
If you are interested in exploring a career at a community college, then understanding the diversity of this student population is crucial to being a competitive job applicant and a requirement in order to be able to teach effectively. This panel consisting of faculty and administrators from community colleges in Iowa, Texas, and Southern California will share insight on the differences between community college and 4-year settings with regards to student diversity. We will also explore the types of inclusive teaching strategies that best support community college students, and issues of equity that community colleges work to address.

All-Network Teaching-as-Research Presentations
Wednesday 4/17: 5-6:30PM ET / 4-5:30PM CT / 3-4:30PM MT / 2-3:30PM PT
Present your completed TAR project and hear from others in this All-Network presentation session as dozens of TAR practitioners from across the nation share their teaching-as-research findings. Take this opportunity to showcase your accomplishments and learn what others in the Network are doing!

Want to present? Sign up here.


Spring 2019 Online Workshops
Workshops have live, real-time online sessions and require independent work outside of those meetings. Workshops can have one, two, or three online sessions (multi-session workshops typically have one session per week). Registration is required; STEM grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive enrollment priority.

Faculty Advising in a Community College Setting: What You Need to Know and How to do it Well
Monday 4/22: 1-2:30PM ET / 12-1:30PM CT / 11AM-12:30PM MT / 10-11:30AM PT
Advising students is a key role that many faculty play in addition to engaging students in classroom or research settings. This workshop is designed to help all future and current faculty learn how to advise effectively.

Job Posting

Tutoring Program Manager, University of Rochester

Full Time Instructor in Biotechnology at Madison Area Technical College

Lecturer - Marine Science/Biology, University of California Santa Barbara

To view more postings or share a new one, join our Academic Careers & Job Postings online community.


Newsletter Signup

Did someone forward our newsletter to you? Fill out our signup form to get it sent straight to your inbox!

Miss something? Read through our newsletter archives.

The CIRTL Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.

Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net

Facebook logo Twitter logo LinkedIn logo YouTube logo

This material is based on work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. DUE-1231286
National Sciences Foundation logo

To unsubscribe from this list, email Goutam Sarker at gsarker at uta dot edu.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *