[cirtl-announce] Course Registration Extended! Sign Up By 9/25

By on September 25, 2018

The CIRTL Network

Registration for CIRTL’s fall online courses has been extended through tomorrow, September 25! Students will be notified of their enrollment status on Wednesday, September 26. You must have an account on our website to register; STEM grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive enrollment priority.

This week we’re also highlighting our fall programming designed to teach graduate students and postdocs how to cultivate effective learning communities in the STEM/SBE classroom. Jump below to read more! Looking for something else? The CIRTL Network offers a wide range of programming to provide participants with professional development and to teach them about four pedagogical fundamentals: evidence-based teaching, learning through diversity, teaching-as-research, and learning communities.

Questions about our programming? Contact us at info@cirtl.net.


Fall 2018 Online Courses

Courses have live, real-time online sessions and require regular homework outside of class meetings. Short courses typically meet weekly for one to two months, while full courses typically meet for two to three months. Registration is required; STEM grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive enrollment priority.

Equity in STEM for All Genders(full course)
Thursdays, 10/4-12/6: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT
Analyze gender bias and collaboratively develop approaches to counter gender bias in STEM in this 9-week online course. Cap: 35.

Practicum in Developing Assessments (short course)
Tuesdays, 10/2, 10/16, 10/30: 1-3PM ET / 12-2PM CT / 11AM-1PM MT / 10AM-12PM PT
Develop two commonly used STEM assessments, multiple choice questions and classroom activities, and strengthen them through peer-review feedback in this 3-part online course. Cap: 40.

Planning your Teaching-as-Research Project(full course)
Thursdays, 10/4-12/13: 12-1:30PM ET / 11AM-12:30PM CT / 10-11:30AM MT / 9-10:30AM PT
Plan and refine your own Teaching-as-Research project alongside a learning community of peers in this 10-week online course. Cap: 20.


Programming Highlight: Learning Communities
Being part of a community can reinforce learning through the act of shared discovery. This fall, CIRTL is offering an online course, MOOC, and several online workshops designed to teach graduate students and postdocs how to cultivate effective learning communities in the STEM/SBE classroom.

Equity in STEM for All Genders, (full course)

Thursdays, 10/4-12/6: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT

Analyze gender bias and collaboratively develop approaches to counter gender bias in STEM in this 9-week online course. Cap: 35.

An Introduction to Evidence-Based Undergraduate STEM Teaching (MOOC)

October 1 through November 25

Learn about STEM teaching at your own pace through online video modules and discussion boards in this 8-week MOOC developed by CIRTL Network faculty. No cap.

Getting Ready to Teach in the American Classroom (Workshop)

Wednesday, 10/3: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT

Learn how to work with undergraduate students in this 1-part online workshop designed for international teaching assistants. Cap: 40.

Creating Effective Learning Communities (Workshop)

Wednesdays, 10/17 & 10/31: 4-5:30PM ET / 3-4:30PM CT / 2-3:30PM MT / 1-2:30PM PT

Understand what makes for a successful learning community and develop strategies you can apply to your own communities in this two-part online workshop. Cap: 50.

Course Registration Deadlines

9/25: Practicum in Developing Assessments

9/25: Equity in STEM for All Genders

9/25: Planning Your Teaching-as-Research Project


MOOC Registration Deadlines

10/1-11/30: An Introduction to Evidence-Based Undergraduate STEM Teaching (Note: participants can register throughout the duration of the MOOC)


Workshop Registration Deadlines

9/28: Getting Ready to Teach in the American Classroom

10/12: Creating Effective Learning Communities

10/19: Creating and Owning Your Individual Development Plan

11/9: Identifying and Developing Your Leadership Style


Newsletter Signup

Did someone forward our newsletter to you? Fill out our signup form to get it sent straight to your inbox!

Miss something? Read through our newsletter archives.

The CIRTL Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.

Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net
Facebook logo Twitter logo LinkedIn logo YouTube logo

This material is based on work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. DUE-1231286
National Sciences Foundation logo

To unsubscribe from this list, email Goutam Sarker at gsarker at uta dot edu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *