[cirtl-announce] Community College Event Today, Mentoring Event Series Begins Thursday

By on February 26, 2018

CIRTL Local

Funding is still available at UTA for CIRTL projects and events. Visit out website cirtluta.linklab.domains for opportunities and deadlines.

If you have any questions please contact Christopher (christopher dot abrego at mavs dot uta dot edu).


CIRTL Network

Today our drop-in event series on teaching at community colleges concludes with an in-depth discussion of diversity and inclusive teaching on community college campuses.

This Thursday we’re launching a new month-long CIRTLCast series focusing on productive mentorship. The series begins with an event on undergraduate research mentorship, and continues with events on graduate mentee-mentor relationships, effective mentoring strategies, and incorporating mentorship into classroom pedagogy.

Lastly, we’re looking ahead to April, when we’ll host our semi-annual Teaching-as-Research presentation session. If you’ve recently completed a TAR project, consider signing up to share your work!

Questions about our programming? Contact us at info@cirtl.net.


This Week at CIRTL

Understanding Diversity and Inclusive Teaching in the Community College Environment (Drop-in Event)
2/26: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT
Learn about diversity at community colleges and inclusive teaching strategies suited to these unique environments in a panel discussion featuring faculty and administrators from community colleges in Iowa, Texas, and Southern California. This event is the final event in our series Exploring a Teaching Career at Community College.

Dipping a Toe in the Water: Undergraduate Research Mentorship (Drop-in Event)
3/1: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
A panel of undergraduate students share their experiences with their research mentors – whether faculty, postdocs, or graduate students – and provide insights into what motivates them in a research context. This event is the first in our four-part series on productive mentorship.


Upcomming Programming

A Respected Graduate Student is a Productive Graduate Student (Drop-in Event)
3/8: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
Join us to hear a panel of graduate students discuss what it means to be respected as a colleague by their mentors and how that sense of respect, trust, and autonomy affect their productivity as researchers. This event is the second in our four-part series on productive mentorship.

Engaging Students in the Teaching of Statistics (short course)
Wednesdays, 3/14-4/11: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT
Learn about engaging, evidence-based pedagogical practices for statistics in this short course designed for current and future instructors. Register by Friday, March 9 for the chance to take part in this course. Cap: 20.

How Amazing Mentors Think About Mentoring (Drop-in event)
3/15: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
Hear a panel of mentors recommended as exemplar by their mentees share their strategies for effective mentorship through specific narratives that illustrate what they think of as pivotal moments for their mentees. This event is the third in our four-part series on productive mentorship.

Teaching as Mentorship: Understanding Classroom Impact (Drop-in event)
3/22: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
Hear a panel of mentors recommended as exemplar by their mentees share their strategies for effective mentorship through specific narratives that illustrate what they think of as pivotal moments for their mentees. This event is the third in our four-part series on productive mentorship.


TAR Speaker Signup Information

All-Network TAR Presentations (Drop-in event)
4/18: 5-6:30 PM ET / 4-5:30PM CT / 3-4:30PM MT / 2-3:30 PM PT
Present your completed TAR project and hear from others in this All-Network presentation session as dozens of TAR practitioners from across the nation share their findings. Take this opportunity to showcase your accomplishments and learn what others in the Network are doing! Sign up here if you’re interested in presenting.

Additional Info

Teaching at Community Colleges Event Series

Productive Mentorship Event Series

Attending CIRTL Drop-in Events

CIRTL Website

CIRTL UTA Website

Attending CIRTL Courses & Workshops

Questions about our programming? Contact our help desk at info@cirtl.net.


Job Postings

Assistant Director, CIRTL at Northwestern (Deadline: 3/1)

Preceptorships, Department of Chemistry, Yale University (Deadline: 3/9)

Experiential Learning Director, Biomedical Engineering, Northwestern (Deadline: 3/12)

Biomedical Science Postdoc, UPLIFT Program, UCLA (Deadline: 4/1)

Lecturer, Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology, Yale University (Open until filled)

HHMI Postdoc, UC Santa Cruz (Open until filled)

HHMI Postdoc, UCLA (Open until filled)

Teaching Assistant Professor, Neuroscience, UNC Chapel Hill (Open until filled)

Teaching Track Faculty Position, Whiting School of Engineering, Johns Hopkins University (Open until filled)

To view more postings or share a new one, join our Academic Careers & Job Postings online community.


Newsletter Signup

Did someone forward our newsletter to you? Fill out our signup form to get it sent straight to your inbox!

Miss something? Read through our newsletter archives.

The CIRTL Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.

Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net
Facebook logo Twitter logo LinkedIn logo

This material is based on work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. DUE-1231286
National Sciences Foundation logo

To unsubscribe from this list, email christopher dot abrego at mavs dot uta dot edu.

emester at UTA for CIRTL projects and events. Visit out website cirtluta.linklab.domains for opportunities and deadlines.

If you have any questions please contact Christopher (christopher dot abrego at mavs dot uta dot edu).


CIRTL Network

This week our drop-in event series on Women in STEM continues with a Thursday event on inclusive programs and initiatives in STEM disciplines.

We’re also extending registration for our workshop on teaching biology labs through tomorrow, February 13, at 12PM CT. Sign up now to take part in this three-part, online workshop!

Questions or comments about our programming? Contact us at info@cirtl.net.


This Week at CIRTL

Integrating Effective Teaching and Assessment Practices in Biology Lab Courses through Case Studies (Workshop)
2/14, 2/21 & 2/28: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT
Prepare lesson plans for biology labs that pull from case studies and promote active learning in this three-part workshop. Cap: 40. Register by 12PM CT on Friday, February 9.

Institutional Programs to Foster Belonging (Drop-in Event)
2/15: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
Hear from faculty and institutional leaders about programs and initiatives designed to foster belonging for undergraduate women in STEM. This event is part of the series Topics in STEMinism: Strategies for Inclusive Undergraduate STEM Education.


February Programming

Equity-Oriented, Inclusive Teaching in STEM (Drop-in Event)
2/22: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
Learn about inclusive teaching practices – and the hurdles instructors might face in implementing them – in the final event in our Topics in STEMinism series.

What to Expect from My Teaching-as-Research Project? Reflections on the TAR Experience from a Panel of CIRTL TAR Alumni (Drop-in Event)
2/22: 5-6:30PM ET / 4-5:30PM CT / 3-4:30PM MT / 2-3:30PM PT
Thinking about doing a Teaching-as-Research (TAR) project? Hear a panel of TAR alumni discuss what they learned from the process and how they use what they learned in their current positions. This event is part of our 2017-2018 Teaching-as-Research Programming.

Understanding Diversity and Inclusive Teaching in the Community College Environment (Drop-in Event)
2/26: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT
Learn about diversity at community colleges and inclusive teaching strategies suited to these unique environments in a panel discussion featuring faculty and administrators from community colleges in Iowa, Texas, and Southern California. This event is the final event in our series Exploring a Teaching Career at Community College.

Additional Info

Upcoming Drop-In Events

Attending CIRTL Drop-in Events

Upcoming Workshops

Create an Account

CIRTL Website

CIRTL UTA Website


Job Postings

Assistant Director, CIRTL at Northwestern (Deadline: 3/1)

Preceptorships, Department of Chemistry, Yale University (Deadline: 3/9)

Biomedical Science Postdoc, UPLIFT Program, UCLA (Deadline: 4/1)

Lecturer, Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology, Yale University (Open until filled)

HHMI Postdoc, UC Santa Cruz (Open until filled)

HHMI Postdoc, UCLA (Open until filled)

To view more postings or share a new one, join our Academic Careers & Job Postings online community.


Newsletter Signup

Did someone forward our newsletter to you? Fill out our signup form to get it sent straight to your inbox!

Miss something? Read through our newsletter archives.

The CIRTL Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.

Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net
Facebook logo Twitter logo LinkedIn logo

This material is based on work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. DUE-1231286
National Sciences Foundation logo

To unsubscribe from this list, email christopher dot abrego at mavs dot uta dot edu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *